Past and future

I can’t even remember where have I heard about the Future Shorts for the first time. All I can recall that months ago I tried to recruit some people to help me organize it and failed. Then after the success of Ignite Taipei #3 I got inspired again, there’s chance to pull it off. There was a lot of motivation – I had a lot of new and interesting friends who I kinda wanted to impress a little. Just a little. Mostly I wanted to know what can I do if I have very limited time and resources, do I have enough drive, contacts and support to get it done.

Insomnia Cafe basement

Before the crowd's in.

It feels in the end, the first Future Shorts Taipei, showing the 2011 Winter selection, was an resounding success (and have pictures to prove it). Looking back, it wasn’t that hard…

  • With some intuition found a venue that was a natural fit for this kind of event, 睡不著咖啡館 Insomnia Cafe, with an owner who was just as excited about the films as I was.
  • The films were really awesome.
  • The people of Taipei, both Taiwanese and foreigners love movies and open to new experiences
  • Last but not least, I had a good friend helping out, who really made a mark on how the event shaped up, design, ideas and giving invaluable feedback. :)

Not yet a month passed since then, and finally the programme of 2012 Spring selection is up, and we better get working on putting it on screen over here. Of course there are a lot of outstanding questions about how to make this 2nd event at least as good (and hopefully better) than the last one.

Where to show it? Keep the same cozy venue or scale up to a proper cinema? Or do two different style of screening, maybe attracting two different style of crowd? This solution would really tickle that part of my brain that loves experimenting.

When to show? We have time between March and May, and the exact date is not a big deal, but which day of the week? Last time because of various constraints it was a Monday evening. Should this time go for a different day?

How much we should get into promoting the event? I like the process of marketing more than I dare to admit, and there’s a lot more things to try, new methods, new contacts, new ideas. This is again a slight internal conflict for me, originally I organized this mainly for my friends, and they are still my priority, but cannot deny that it would feel good if a lot of people had good time.

Audience

Great audience at the Future Shorts Taipei

Either way, there’s a lot more things forward, and I can’t wait to see what. And can’t wait to see more movies.

find me on google plusGergely Imreh

One comment on “Past and future

  1. […] Last time we were at Insomnia Cafe, which worked pretty well. It’s pretty cozy (though that means limited space too), good atmosphere, and overall great place to hold a screening. Definitely a place to keep, even though it only covers part of the features of the venue we want to have. Future Shorts Taipei 2011 Winter screening […]

Leave a Comment

